Summer Bridge Math Competition and Awards

Posted in: Program Support, Student Success


On August 5, 2016 NCC and the NCC Foundation hosted a competition among the students of the 2016 Summer Bridge Math Program. The program, funded entirely through donations made to the NCC Foundation by local corporations, foundations and individuals, provides a free, four-week math intensive for incoming freshman who have registered at NCC and received low math scores on the placement test. In addition to receiving an hour and a half of math instruction every day, the students worked in small groups on projects that addressed a societal issue. On the final day, the students presented their work to their peers and a panel of judges who selected the top three winning teams. (Pictured left to right: Student Success Coach Pracilya Titus, Prof. Eli Glatt, student Tayquan Camacho, student Austin Carazo, Coordinator of Transition Strategies StacyAnn Reid, student Lillian Yanney and Student Success Coach Karla Lara. Students shown are members of the winning team.)

The judges included David L. Levinson, Ph.D. President, NCC; Calvin McFadden, Ph.D., Dean of Students, NCC; Stuart Weismiller, President, NCC Foundation; Tom Gnuse, CEO and Chief Investment Officer, HTG Investment Advisors Inc. and Board Member of the New Canaan Community Foundation; Juanita James, President & CEO, Fairfield County’s Community Foundation; and Joe Zimmel, Former Managing Director, Goldman Sachs.

Of the 17 competing teams, the winners were Addressing Technological Addiction (first place), Community Gardens (second place), and Feeding the Hungry (third place). Each member of the winning teams received a gift card to the NCC Bookstore and every student in the program received a math textbook valued at approximately $130 to be used in the 2016/17 academic year. In addition to successful completion of the program, 57 students retook the placement test and 62% have moved into college level, credit bearing math classes this fall.

Judges (from left to right): David L. Levinson, Ph.D., Joe Zimmel, Stuart Weismiller, Tom Gnuse, Calvin McFadden, Ph.D. and Juanita James.
Change this in Theme Options
Change this in Theme Options